…for saying “no”!


Today, I am thankful for the ability to say “no”.

For me, this is something revolutionary. See, I rarely ever find the strength to deny opportunities to spend time with others. Being on a college campus doesn’t help too much, especially when you are bombarded with countless opportunities to waste all sorts of time. I mean, why study or sleep when you could go somewhere and “have fun”?

Saturday night had me all up talking into the wee hours of the morning with a friend of mine. Which, is something I do not regret in the least. However, because of the time that I had spent talking, had I gone on about my day pretending that I wasn’t awake at six in the morning, I would have fallen apart in front of my peers. Knowing this, I went straight to bed, and slept off most of the day.

I do hope that I’m not condoning a lifestyle of sleeping and staying up too late. Those aren’t ideal things, or good things even. What I am trying to say is that in my discernment of opportunities that come my way, I am able to enjoy the people I do spend time with and the events I participate in to the fullest.

When faced with nearly endless choices throughout our days, we can allow ourselves to become stretched out. If we are stretched out, how can we fully commit ourselves to any one thing? No one wants a diluted offering. We yearn for concentration, from the quality of our focus, to the quality of our orange juice.

I’ve often heard it said that for everything one accepts, something is denied. Which is mostly true. But what of the things accepted through denial?

This is all a bit fitting, today being Sunday and all. Even God had a day of denial. A day of rest. A day of “no” to prepare for six more days of “yes”. If God had a day of denial, who am I to say I am above such things?

It is for these reasons that I am thankful for denial. For rest. For time to recharge. What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

